

Government Gazette Staatskoerant

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA REPUBLIEK VAN SUID AFRIKA

Vol. 709

25

July Julie

2024

No. 50976

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes



AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

THE GOVERNMENT PRINTING WORKS WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ERRORS THAT MIGHT OCCUR DUE TO THE SUBMISSION OF INCOMPLETE / INCORRECT / ILLEGIBLE COPY.

No future queries will be handled in connection with the above.

Contents

GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY, FISHERIES AND THE ENVIRONMENT

NO. 5063 25 July 2024

NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT: WASTE ACT, 2008 (ACT NO. 59 OF 2008)

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INDUSTRY ADVISORY COMMITTEE IN TERMS OF THE WASTE TYRE REGULATIONS, 2017

I, Dr Dion Travers George, Minister of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment, hereby inform the public that I have established the Industry Advisory Committee in terms of section 11A of the Waste Tyre Regulations, 2017, read together with the Industry Waste Tyre Management Plan, published under Government Notice No. 4542, in Government Gazette No. 50322 of 20 March 2024. The Terms of Reference is attached as Annexure A to the Industry Waste Tyre Management Plan.

The Industry Advisory Committee will support the implementation of the Industry Waste Tyre Management Plan. The role of the Committee is advisory in nature, which advice must be considered by the Implementer(s) of the Industry Waste Tyre Management Plan and the Waste Management Bureau. The Committee must collaborate with the Implementer/s to ensure the effective management of waste tyres in line with the objectives of the Waste Tyre Management Plan and the achievement of its targets.

The following persons have been appointed to serve as members of the Industry Advisory Committee:

- Mr Nduduzo Chala (Vice Chairperson) South African Tyre Manufacturers Conference (SATMC)
- 2. Dr Dhiraj Rama Business Unity South Africa (BUSA) and Cement and Concrete SA
- 3. Mr Wonderboy Mfaniseni Masilela and Fulufhelo Murovhi as alternate Black Business Council
- 4. Mr Peter Mohasoa and Mr Matome Makwela as alternate Minerals Council South Africa
- 5. Mr Khothatso Moloi and Ms Reabetswe Ngwane as alternate Recycling Association of South Africa (RASA)
- Mr Charl de Villiers (Chairperson) and Mr Pieter Kruger as alternate Tyre importer Association of SA (TIASA)
- Dr Mehran Zarrebini and Mr Fayaaz Patel as alternate Tyre Recycling Industry Association of SA
- 8. Mr Vishal Premlall, Ms Marietjie Smith and Mr Hedley Judd as alternates Tyre, Equipment, Parts Association
- 9. Mr Lebohang Selepe and Mr Bongani Mthembu as alternate Waste Tyre Management Forum
- 10. Mr Balangani Nengovhela and Ms Jean de la Harpe as alternate South African Local Government Association (SALGA)
- 11. Dr Mmboneni Muofhe Department of Science, Technology and Innovation (Includes WRIU)
- 12. Ms Ilze Baron Department Trade, Industry and Competition

- 13. Ms Qinisile Delwa Department of Small Business Development
- 14. Representative of National Treasury

The representatives of abovementioned organisations may change from time to time. Any enquiries in connection with this Notice can be directed to Mr Dumisani Buthelezi on Tel: 012 399 8535 / Email: DButhelezi@dffe.gov.za

DR DION TRAVERS GEORGE

MINISTER OF FORESTRY, FISHERIES AND ENVIRONMENT

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Contact Centre Tel: 012-748 6200. eMail: info.egazette@gpw.gov.za Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6053, 748 6061, 748 6065